Tags

,

Let’s start from the beginning.  What could have happened to inspire such a burning passion within me to care so much about agriculture?  I guess it was almost two years ago when the seed was first planted, but it took almost a year for the seed to start growing.  Once upon a time my cousin, David watched a documentary called “King Corn”.  I didn’t watch it with him, and I wasn’t particularly interested, so I immediately brushed it off.  He attempted several times to talk about the documentary and what he learned from it but I guess I wasn’t really listening, so it just went through one ear and out the other.  I would think to myself “Who cares?!  This stuff they talk about doesn’t make any sense and everybody is going to eat the way they want to anyways.”

The topic didn’t really come up much after that, but then I noticed some changes in their groceries shopping habits.  They started to primarily buy their groceries from Whole Foods and buying product that was “organic” and “grass-fed”.  Austin and I ate over at their house a lot and I would get irritated at times thinking “This food tastes exactly the same as the cheaper stuff! Why don’t they just save the money?”  I thought it was silly and irresponsible to spend money like that when it could go towards other things they may have needed at the time.  Looking back I realized I was being immature and stubborn.

Why not watch King Corn?  Why judge their grocery buying habits without trying to take the time to understand why and learn more about their new eating habits?  Better late than never though.  It wasn’t until they moved away that I decided to see what the hype was about.  So I watched King Corn.  I can honestly say it has changed my life.  That documentary caused the seed that was planted to start growing, and it hasn’t stopped.  Since then my thirst for knowledge about agriculture has been unquenchable!  I’ve read several books, watched many documentaries, and there is still more to learn.

From here on, my goal with the blog is not to be the educator, but the exposer.  I plan to share my experiences through the books and documentaries, because I want to make sure the information I’m providing is accurate.  The next post will be about King Corn.

Thanks for reading!